## **System Council of Chief Academic Officers**

Wednesday, January 15, 2014 8:45 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. Kathy Rupp Conference Room Kansas Board of Regents Curtis State Office Building 1000 SW Jackson Topeka, Kansas

## AGENDA

P	a	g	E

1. Approve Minutes of December 18, 2013 [Attachment 1]

2

## 2. Updates

- a. Transfer and Articulation Council (TAAC) Update
- b. Developmental Education Working Group Update
- c. Student Learning Assessment Update
- d. Statewide Reverse Transfer Agreement Update

## 3. Other Business

## SCOCAO Schedule – September 2013 – June 2014

AGENDA MATERIALS DUE	MEETING DATES	
August 23, 2013	September 18, 2013	
September 20, 2013	October 16, 2013	
October 25, 2013	November 20, 2013	
November 22, 2013	December 18, 2013	
December 20, 2013	January 15, 2014	
January 22, 2014	February 12, 2014	
February 19, 2014	March 12, 2014	
March 21, 2014	April 16, 2014	
April 18, 2014	May 14, 2014	
May 23, 2014	June 18, 2014	

# System Council of Chief Academic Officers Minutes

Wednesday, December 18, 2013 8:30 a.m. Kathy Rupp Conference Room Kansas Board of Regents

The System Council of Chief Academic Officers met in the Kathy Rupp Conference Room, Kansas Board of Regents, Topeka, Kansas, at 8:30 a.m. on Wednesday, December 18, 2013.

#### **Members Present:**

Karla Fisher, Butler Community College David Cordle, Emporia State University Lynette Olson, Pittsburg State University Chris Crawford, Fort Hays State University Tony Vizzini, Wichita State University Robert Klein, University of Kansas Med Center Jeffrey Vitter, University of Kansas Randy Pembrook, Washburn University April Mason, Kansas State University Sara Harris, Independence Community College

#### **Board Staff**

Gary Alexander, Karla Wiscombe, Susan Fish, Jean Redeker, Jacqueline Johnson, and Kirk Haskins

#### **Others Present:**

Rick Muma, Wichita State University; Sara Rosen, University of Kansas; Ruth Dyer, Kansas State University; Jon Marshall, Allen County Community College; Marilyn Mahan, Manhattan Area Technical College; Kim Krull, Butler County Community College; Gene George, Butler County Community College; Duane Dunn, Seward Community College; Bill Bactlin, Cloud County Community College; Jim Williams, Emporia State University; and Penny Quinn, Barton County Community College

#### **Approve Minutes of November 20, 2013 Meeting Minutes**

Lynette Olson moved, and Sara Harris seconded the motion, to approve the November 20, 2013 minutes as submitted. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **Discussion:**

#### Transfer and Articulation Council (TAAC) Update

Karla Wiscombe updated SCOCAO on the progress of TAAC. The Council is reviewing nineteen Kansas Core Outcome Group (KCOG) reports and reviewed nine November 20. TAAC approved five courses and sent three courses back to faculty for clarification. TAAC meets tomorrow and will continue reviewing reports and courses.

#### **Developmental Education Working Group Update**

Susan Fish gave an update on the progress of the Developmental Education Working Group. The Working Group met Friday, November 22, and discussed Neosho County Community College President Brian Inbody's presentation to the Kansas Board of Regents. Subgroups in Math, Language Arts, and Advising were formed and chairs were appointed. These subgroups will work on reports. A webinar was conducted to discuss what current data is available and if there is any additional data needed. The Developmental Education Working will meet again in January.

## State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) Update

Gary Alexander told SCOCAO that BAASC will be making a recommendation concerning SARA to the Board on Thursday, December 19.

## **Statewide Reverse Transfer Agreement**

The System Council of Presidents will continue its discussion of statewide reverse transfer today. SCOCAO expressed concern regarding the minimum number of credit hours required to be eligible for reverse transfer. The policy will go through the Governance Committee prior to being placed on the Board agenda.

#### **Other Business**

There was no other business.

Meeting adjourned at 9:00 a.m.