Minutes of the Council of Faculty Senate Presidents – 10:00 a.m., June 18, 2014 – Curtis State Office Building, Topeka, KS

Present: ESU: Sheryl Lidzy; FHSU: Stephen Donnelly and Eric Deyo; KSU: David Rintoul; KU: Jim Carothers; KUMC: Sandra Bergquist-Beringer; PSU: Justin Honey; WSU: Victoria Mosack and Mehmet Barut; Guest: Gary Alexander; Excused: Manjula Shinge, Julia Keen, Chris Steadham, David Naylor, and Julie Dainty

Agenda Item	Facilitator	Meeting Action	Follow-up Action	Outcome
Approval of the Minutes: May 14, 2014 meeting	S. Lidzy	Minutes, as written, approved by consensus	Noted that Mehmet Barut (WSU) will be the president and Eric Deyo (FHSU) will be the secretary for the CoFSPs for AY 2014-2015	
Social Media Policy	S. Lidzy	Discussion by all related to the expected outcome for the social media policy		
Credit for Prior Learning (CPL) & Competency-based Learning	S. Lidzy	Discussion about CPL – Members participating in the May 30 th seminar shared information about CPL from the meeting. Members attending SCoCAO shared discussion about all universities needing to agree on baseline/cutoff scores for standardized tests. Discussion about the need for additional resources to develop exams and to evaluate portfolios. Concerns expressed that this could turn into an unfunded mandate. Members of the CoFSPs emphasized the need to focus on student success and wanting to ensure that students are prepared for the future as CPL and competency-based learning is further explored.	KBOR meeting June 24 th : Several CoFSP members will participate. G. Alexander shared that there will be no mandate for CPL, and encourages a faculty (bottom-up-driven) process.	
Report from KBOR Liaison	G. Alexander	Additional Information from G. Alexander: Further discussion about CPL: G. Alexander indicated that CPL will be considered for inclusion in Transfer & Articulation Council (TAC). He shared also that there will be no mandate for CPL, and encourages a faculty-driven process.		
CoFSP Continuity	S. Lidzy	Discussion about maintaining continuity between CoFSP groups. G. Alexander suggested contacting Sherry Ferris to arrange for use	M. Barut will provide access information	

		of media for distance connections. S. Lidzy, Stephen Donnelly,	
		Justin Honey, Julia Keen, and Victoria Mosack have agreed to	
		participate remotely in future meetings of the CoFSPs.	
Adjournment	S. Lidzy	Many thanks to Sheryl Lidzy for her leadership of the CoFSPs	
		during AY 2013-2014.	

Council of Faculty Senate Presidents (CoFSPs)

<u>Discussion Topics</u> (from AY 2013-2014):

- Shared Governance Longevity of attendance to KBOR meetings for representation (institutional memory)
- Shared Leave Policy for Domestic Partners
- Credit for Prior Learning
- Competency-Based Learning
- Transfer and Articulation
- Concurrent Enrollment
- CEO Assessment: Planned for March 2015 (assure faculty involvement)
- Academic honesty policy across campuses
- Enrollment Management & Retention
- Management of Online & Alternate Learning/MOOCs

Follow-up:

- Social Media Policy (KBOR to review in May 2015)
- Post-Tenure Review (PTR) Submitted in April 2014