System Council of Chief Academic Officers Minutes

Wednesday, May 14, 2014 8:45 a.m. Kathy Rupp Conference Room Kansas Board of Regents

The System Council of Chief Academic Officers met in the Kathy Rupp Conference Room, Kansas Board of Regents, Topeka, Kansas, at 8:45 a.m. on Wednesday, May 14, 2014.

Members Present:

Karla Fisher, Butler County Community College David Cordle, Emporia State University Lynette Olson, Pittsburg State University Chris Crawford, Fort Hays State University Tony Vizzini, Wichita State University Jon Marshall, Allen County Community College Jeffrey Vitter, University of Kansas Randy Pembrook, Washburn University Marilyn Mahan, Manhattan Area Technical College

Board Staff

Gary Alexander, Jean Redeker, Karla Wiscombe, Jacqueline Johnson, Kelly Oliver, and Cynthia Farrier

Others Present:

Rick Muma, Wichita State University; Kimberly Engber, Wichita State University; Sara Rosen, University of Kansas; Jim Williams, Emporia State University; Stephen Donnelly, Fort Hays State University; Julie Dainty, Pittsburg State University; Justin Honey, Pittsburg State University; Bruce Exstrom, Garden City Community College; Mike Calvert, Pratt Community College; Andy Anderson, Johnson County Community College; Steve Vacik, Colby Community College; Duane Dunn, Seward County Community College; Brenda Chatfield, Northwest Kansas Technical College; Steve Loewen, Flint Hills Technical College; Thad Russell, Dodge City Community College; Phil Speary, Butler County Community College; William Backlin, Cloud County Community College; and Penny Quinn, Barton County Community College

Approve Minutes of April 16, 2014 Meeting Minutes

Lynette Olson moved, and April Mason seconded the motion, to approve the April 16, 2014 minutes as submitted. Motion carried unanimously.

Updates

Transfer and Articulation Council (TAAC) Update

Karla Wiscombe updated SCOCAO regarding the status of the Transfer and Articulation Council (TAAC). TAAC will meet tomorrow to determine a list of appropriate courses for effective transfer. Johnson County Community College is hosting the fall meeting on September 12th with a proposed timeline from 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Developmental Education Working Group Update

Gary Alexander informed the Council the Developmental Education Working Group is finalizing its report and it will be on the June Board agenda.

Credit for Prior Learning

Gary Alexander provided an update on Credit for Prior Learning (CPL). The CPL guidebook was revised by eliminating Appendix D. A recommendation to place CPL under the Board Academic Affairs Standing Committee (BAASC) and the vice president for academic affairs will be discussed at today's BAASC meeting.

A workshop is scheduled for May 30, 2014 in Wichita, directed by the Council on Adult and Experiential Education. Representatives from all of the institutions have been encouraged to participate.

Reverse Transfer Procedure

Karla Fisher advised SCOCAO that procedures for reverse transfer need to be developed. The Kansas Council of Instructional Administrators (KCIA) meets Thursday, May 29th and they could work on reverse transfer procedures and how to report using what data and format. By consensus, SCOCAO agreed to KCIA working on the procedures. SCOCAO will place this on its June agenda for an update.

Clarifying Performance Funding Guidelines

Jean Redeker presented the information on clarifying performance funding guidelines and Kelly Oliver was present to answer any questions. The proposed revisions are as follows:

- 1) Incorporate the Board's May 2013 determination that Tuition for Technical Education distributions (secondary students) meet the statutory definition of funds that are subject to performance funding
- 2) Add the Postsecondary Education Performance-Based Incentive Special Revenue Fund to the list of funds that are statutorily subject to performance funding and
- 3) Provide clarification.

This will be presented to the Board Academic Affairs Standing Committee today and will be on the June Board agenda.

Other Business

Credentialing of Concurrent Enrollment/Dual Credit Faculty

The credentialing of concurrent enrollment/dual credit faculty is not uniform across the state. SCOCAO, by consensus, established a group for researching HLC guidelines and background information on credentials. Volunteers were: Jon Marshall, Marilyn Mahan, April Mason, Chris Crawford, Randy Pembrook and Karla Wiscombe. This group will bring an update to SCOCAO in June.

Meeting adjourned at 9:46 a.m.