System Council of Chief Academic Officers Minutes

Wednesday, June 18, 2014 8:45 a.m. Kathy Rupp Conference Room Kansas Board of Regents

The System Council of Chief Academic Officers met in the Kathy Rupp Conference Room, Kansas Board of Regents, Topeka, Kansas, at 8:45 a.m. on Wednesday, June 18, 2014.

Members Present:

Karla Fisher, Butler County Community College David Cordle, Emporia State University Lynette Olson, Pittsburg State University Chris Crawford, Fort Hays State University Robert Klein, University of Kansas Med Center April Mason, Kansas State University Jon Marshall, Allen County Community College Sara Rosen for Jeffrey Vitter, University of Kansas Randy Pembrook, Washburn University Tony Vizzini, Wichita State University Sara Harris, Independence Community College

Board Staff

Gary Alexander, Jean Redeker, Karla Wiscombe, Jacqueline Johnson, Susan Fish, Cynthia Farrier, and Breeze Richardson

Others Present:

Rick Muma, Wichita State University; Ruth Dyer, Kansas State University; Stephen Donnelly, Fort Hays State University; David Rintoul, Kansas State University; Justin Honey, Pittsburg State University; Bruce Exstrom, Garden City Community College; Shannon Covert, Butler County Community College; Alysia Johnston, Coffeyville Community College; Sandra Bergquist-Beringer, University of Kansas Medical Center; Duane Dunn, Seward County Community College; Cindy Hoss, Hutchinson Community College; Steve Loewen, Flint Hills Technical College; Thad Russell, Dodge City Community College; Kim Krull, Butler County Community College; Joe Varrientos, Pratt Community College; William Backlin, Cloud County Community College; and Penny Quinn, Barton County Community College

Approve Minutes of May 14, 2014 Meeting Minutes

David Cordle moved, and Randy Pembrook seconded the motion, to approve the May 14, 2014 minutes as submitted. Motion carried unanimously.

Updates

Transfer and Articulation Council (TAAC) Update

Karla Wiscombe updated SCOCAO regarding the status of the Transfer and Articulation Council (TAAC). TAAC will meet tomorrow to finalize a list of appropriate courses for effective transfer to be reviewed at the September 2014 Core Outcomes meeting. Johnson County Community College is hosting the fall meeting on September 12th with a proposed timeline from 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Training for discipline chairs and liaisons will be at 10:00 a.m. SCOCAO asked for the list of courses to be reviewed in September. It will be posted to the Kansas Board of Regents website and staff will email the list to the Council.

Credit for Prior Learning

Gary Alexander thanked the institutions for the good attendance at the May 30 workshop in Wichita, directed by the Council on Adult and Experiential Education. He noted at least fifty have registered for the June 24th ACE meeting.

He will make the following two recommendations to the Board on Thursday, June 19th: (1) direct institutions to review their CPL policies and practices, and continue to ensure students have ample opportunity to make use of CPL in a manner consistent with the institution's staffing and resources; and (2) the Credit for Prior Learning (CPL) project be placed the under aegis of the Board Academic Affairs Standing Committee (BAASC) with the Vice President for Academic Affairs being responsible for coordinating system CPL activities.

Reverse Transfer Procedure

Karla Fisher advised the Council the sub group on reverse transfer has scheduled a conference call for Friday, June 20. Call in information will be emailed to the institutions.

Breeze Richardson updated SCOCAO on the marketing of reverse transfer. A draft version of the marketing tool was distributed. The purpose is to assist campuses in marketing transfer and reverse transfer consistently.

Reverse transfer will be placed on the September 2014 System Council of Chief Academic Affair's agenda.

Concurrent Enrollment/Dual Credit Issues

The credentialing of concurrent enrollment/dual credit faculty is not uniform across the state. SCOCAO, by consensus, established a group for researching HLC guidelines and background information on credentials. April Mason provided a brief update on concurrent enrollment/dual credit with regard to faculty credentials. The subgroup determined that HLC guidelines and Board policy allow for differing faculty credentials for the two year and four year institutions. The subgroup urged two and four year institutions that service the same geographic area to communicate and collaborate for concurrent enrollment partnerships with school districts. April Mason thanked the sub group for their in-depth look at the faculty credentials for instruction.

Informational Item

WSU – Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP) Update

Tony Vizzini informed SCOCAO of Wichita State University's deletions and additions to the Midwest Student Exchange Program list of its MSEP-eligible programs as of spring 2014.

Other Business

The 2014-2015 two year institution members of SCOCAO are:

Jon Marshall Sara Harris Bill Backlin Karla Fisher Sheree Utash

Meeting adjourned at 9:10 a.m.