

KANSAS BOARD OF REGENTS

1000 SW JACKSON • SUITE 520 • TOPEKA, KS 66612-1368

TELEPHONE - 785-296-3421 FAX - 785-296-0983 www.kansasregents.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 27, 2007

STATE UNIVERSITIES ASSIST 592 KANSAS STUDENTS IMPACTED BY RECENT NATURAL DISASTERS

(TOPEKA) – Today the Kansas Board of Regents announced that the state's six universities have assisted 592 students during the current Fall 2007 academic semester who were directly impacted by natural disasters that swept through the state over the summer.

In June, the Board announced that the state's six universities would offer students from the 43 Kansas counties declared eligible for individual federal assistance the option to defer tuition and fee payments past the traditional due dates. Under this option, the state's universities waived late payment penalties and developed individual deferred payment plans for affected students.

"Providing payment flexibility options for these students so that they could attend to immediate community and family concerns was an important priority following this past summer's natural disasters," said Christine Downey-Schmidt, Chair of the Board of Regents. "The Board commends the state universities for responding to these students' unique and individual circumstances and we commend the affected students for their commitment to their families, their communities, and their education."

The following table displays the number of students who were assisted at each of the state's six universities:

<u>University</u>	Number of Students
Emporia State University	9
Fort Hays State University	0
Kansas State University	180
Pittsburg State University	211
University of Kansas	37
Wichita State University	155
TOTAL:	592

The tuition assistance offer applied to residents in 20 flooded Southeast Kansas counties (Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Elk, Franklin, Greenwood, Labette, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Wilson, and

Woodson) and residents in 24 storm-damaged and flooded counties (Barton, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lyon, McPherson, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee, Smith, and Stafford) who were declared eligible for individual federal assistance. This included Greensburg, which was devastated by a tornado in May, and Coffeyville, which was flooded in June.

According to an April enrollment survey conducted by the Board of Regents, there were 21,004 students from the 43 storm and flood-affected counties who attended the state's six universities during the Fall 2006 academic semester.

The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents is the governing board of the state's six universities and a coordinating board for nineteen community colleges, ten technical institutions, and a municipal university.

--30--

For more information contact Kip Peterson, Director of Government Relations & Communications, at (785) 296-3421.

Visit the Kansas Board of Regents on the Web at <u>www.kansasregents.org</u>