Council of Chief Academic Officers MINUTES

Wednesday, November 17, 2021

The November 17, 2021, meeting of the Council of Chief Academic Officers was called to order by Chair Jill Arensdorf at 8:59 a.m. The meeting was held through Zoom.

In Attendance:

Members:	Shirley Lefever, WSU Chuck Taber, K-State	Jill Arensdorf, FHSU George Arasimowicz, ESU	Robert Klein, KUMC JuliAnn Mazachek, Washburn
	Barbara Bichelmeyer, KU	Mary Carol Pomatto, PSU	Daniel Archer, KBOR
Staff:	Karla Wiscombe Tara Lebar Marti Leisinger	Amy Robinson Cindy Farrier Lisa Beck	Sam Christy-Dangermond April Henry Hector Martinez
Otherse	C C		
Others:	Mickey McCloud, JCCC Jerry Pope, KCKCC Adam Borth, Fort Scott CC	Michelle Schoon, Cowley CC Corey Isbell, NCK Tech Elaine Simmons, Barton CC	Aron Potter, Coffeyville CC Cindy Hoss, Hutchinson CC Jane Holwerda, Dodge City CC
	Eric Burks, NCK Tech	Gary Wyatt, ESU	Jean Redeker, KU
	Janet Stramel, FHSU	Jason Sharp, Labette CC	JoLanna Kord, ESU
	Jennifer Ball, Washburn	Jennifer Roberts, KU	John Perry, WSU
	Kim Krull, Butler CC	Kay Monk-Morgan, WSU	Kim Zant, Cloud County CC
	Linnea GlenMaye, WSU	Kim Morse, Washburn	Mark Watkins, Labette CC
	Robert Klein, KUMC	Luke Dowell, SCCC	Monette DePew, Pratt CC
	Michelle Carney, KU	Prasad Kulkarni, KU	Shelly Gehrke, ESU
	Remy Lequesne, KU	Scott Lucas, WSU Tech	Sharon Kibbe, Highland CC
	Sarah Robb, Neosho CC	Stuart Day, KU	Taylor Crawshaw, Highland CC
	Stanton Gartin, SATC	Tanya Gonzalez, K-State	Tiffany Bohm, KCKCC
	Tom Nevill, Butler CC		

Jill Arensdorf welcomed everyone. Roll call was taken for members and presenters.

Approval of Minutes

Chuck Taber moved to approve the September 15, 2021 meeting minutes, and George Arasimowicz seconded the motion. With no corrections, the motion passed.

1st Readings

Barbara Bichelmeyer and department representatives presented the first readings for the following KU programs:

- 1. BS/BAS in Project Management
- 2. M.Eng. in Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
- 3. Doctorate in Advanced Social Work Practice (DSW)

The BS/BAS in Project Management will be offered on the Edwards campus, is entirely online, is transferfriendly, increases access and diversity, and KU already has a successful graduate program at the Edwards campus. Dean Day noted there are only 15 similar accredited bachelor programs in the US.

The Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering & Computer Science focuses on teaching advanced skills through course work, which eliminates the project and thesis component of the current MS program. Professor Kulkarni noted there are similar programs offered in Kansas. The program is popular due to anticipated

employment growth.

The DSW is a new degree program in the School of Social Welfare. This degree compliments KU's existing Ph.D. in Social Welfare, was created in response to market demand, and focuses on leadership and higher education. It is entirely online and is designed to be completed in two years. Dean Carney stated about 18 similar programs in the country exist, but none are found in Kansas or the region. Barbara noted there is a high need in Kansas.

These programs will be up for a second reading and vote at the next COCAO meeting. The DSW second reading will be delayed due to the external review team's timeline.

2nd Readings

• Chuck Taber presented the K-State second reading for an Associate of Applied Science in Unmanned Aircraft Systems. This AAS will be offered through the College of Technology and Aviation on the Salina Campus and is a response to industry and community requests. This program differs from others in the region by focusing on commercial use across various applications in the industry, aviation safety, human factors, flight instructor development, UAS maintenance, and public safety applications. Support letters from industry and the community, as well as correspondence to and from various Kansas community and technical colleges, are included in the agenda, starting on page 52. Chuck responded to clarification questions from council members.

Barbara Bichelmeyer moved to approve the K-State request as presented, and George Arasimowicz seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed through a roll call vote with 4 out of 6 members in favor. Shirley Lefever and Mary Carol Pomatto, PSU's proxy for Howard Smith, abstained from voting. Without a unanimous vote, this program will be voted on by COPS in December.

• Chuck Taber presented the K-State second reading for an MS in Aeronautics, offered by the College of Technology and Aviation on the Salina Campus. This program is responsive to industry requests, closely aligns with the K-State mission, and has strong demand. It focuses on serving the aerospace manufacturing sector, which is looking for new leadership and policy implementation skills.

George Arasimowicz moved to approve the K-State request as presented, and Barbara Bichelmeyer seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously through a roll call vote. This program will move forward to COPS later in the day for approval.

Other Matters

• Daniel Archer and Barbara Bichelmeyer presented revisions to the Spoken English Language Policy. This policy addresses English speaking proficiency requirements for non-native-speaking faculty and teaching assistants. Daniel provided a summary of the two substantive proposed changes to KBOR policy II.C.2.b.iii, which can be found on page 144 of the agenda. The first proposed set of changes adds specific English proficiency exams and details requisite scores for such exams. The second proposed set of changes aligns requirements for all appointment types of faculty and graduate teaching assistants. KU would also like to align exclusions for sign language and foreign language instruction. Jennifer Roberts provided further details of the current differences in policy and the reasons behind the request. No questions were presented.

Chuck Taber moved to approve the changes proposed to the Spoken English Language Policy, and Shirley Lefever seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously through a roll call vote. This request will move forward to COPS later in the day for approval.

• Shirley Lefever and John Perry presented the WSU request to change the name of the BBA in General

Business to BBA in Business Administration. Through interviews and surveys, it was identified this name change would be beneficial for marketing purposes. John noted this program was initially called Business Administration, and faculty also support changing the name back. No questions were presented.

Barbara Bichelmeyer moved to approve the WSU request as presented, and George Arasimowicz seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously through a roll call vote. This request will go to Blake Flanders, President and CEO, for final approval.

Council of Faculty Senate Presidents (COFSP) Update

Janet Stramel, FHSU Faculty Senate President, provided the update. She stated faculty still have concerns with the effects of the pandemic and frustrations they are experiencing due to increased workloads and finding a work and life balance. They recognize institutional responses and feel supported but have concerns with research, travel, and student health and retention.

<u>Adjournment</u>

The next COCAO meeting is scheduled for December 15, 2021, and will be held virtually.

Shirley Lefever moved to adjourn the meeting, and Chuck Taber seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the meeting adjourned at 9:41 a.m.