Council of Chief Academic Officers MINUTES

Wednesday, February 16, 2022

The February 16, 2022, Council of Chief Academic Officers (COCAO) meeting was called to order by Chair Jill Arensdorf at 9:05 a.m. The meeting was held through Zoom.

In Attendance:

Jill Arensdorf, FHSU Tanya Gonzalez, K-State	Barbara Bichelmeyer, KU Howard Smith, PSU	Robert Klein, KUMC JuliAnn Mazachek, Washburn
Gary Wyatt, ESU	Shirley Lefever, WSU	Daniel Archer, KBOR
Karla Wiscombe	Sam Christy-Dangermond	Amy Robinson
Tara Lebar	Judd McCormack	Cindy Farrier
Marti Leisinger	Natalie Yoza	Hector Martinez
Adam Borth, Fort Scott CC	Aron Potter, Coffeyville CC	Elaine Simmons, Barton CC
Eugene Vasserman, K-State	Greg Paul, K-State	Janet Stramel, FHSU
Jason Sharp, Labette CC	Jean Redeker, KU	Jerry Pope, KCKCC
Jennifer Ball, Washburn	Jennifer Roberts, KU	JoLanna Kord, ESU
Kim Morse, Washburn	Kim Zant, Cloud County CC	Luke Dowell, SCCC
Linnea GlenMaye, WSU	Lisa Blair, NWKTC	Monette DePew, Pratt CC
Matthew Mayo, KUMC	Michelle Schoon, Cowley CC	Mickey McCloud, JCCC
Robert Klein, KUMC	Sharon Kibbe, Highland CC	Shelly Gehrke, ESU
Paul Grimes, PSU	Tom Hallaq, K-State	Tom Nevill, Butler CC
	Tanya Gonzalez, K-State Gary Wyatt, ESU Karla Wiscombe Tara Lebar Marti Leisinger Adam Borth, Fort Scott CC Eugene Vasserman, K-State Jason Sharp, Labette CC Jennifer Ball, Washburn Kim Morse, Washburn Linnea GlenMaye, WSU Matthew Mayo, KUMC Robert Klein, KUMC	Tanya Gonzalez, K-State Gary Wyatt, ESU Karla Wiscombe Tara Lebar Marti Leisinger Adam Borth, Fort Scott CC Eugene Vasserman, K-State Jason Sharp, Labette CC Jennifer Ball, Washburn Kim Morse, Washburn Kim Morse, Washburn Kim Morse, Washburn Linnea GlenMaye, WSU Matthew Mayo, KUMC Robert Klein, KUMC Howard Smith, PSU Shirley Lefever, WSU Aron Potter, Coffeyville CC Greg Paul, K-State Jean Redeker, KU Jennifer Roberts, KU Kim Zant, Cloud County CC Lisa Blair, NWKTC Michelle Schoon, Cowley CC Sharon Kibbe, Highland CC

Roll call was taken for members and presenters.

Approval of Minutes

Howard Smith moved to approve January 19, 2022, meeting minutes, and Shirley Lefever seconded the motion. With no corrections, the motion passed.

1st Readings

- Howard Smith and Paul Grimes presented the first reading for a BBA in Business Studies at PSU. The program will use existing courses, certificates, and minors already taught with existing faculty and repackage them into a stackable degree. This will allow students flexibility and ensure a better fit for their individual goals while still giving undecided students an exploration option.
- Tanya Gonzalez and Eugene Vasserman presented the first reading for a BS in Cybersecurity at K-State. Cybersecurity is a growing field with industry demand. This program was built off the existing cybersecurity option offered in their current BS in Computer Science. While similar, these two programs require different electives. The Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) has released criteria for accreditation and believes computer science is a key part of any degree with cybersecurity components. Creating a separate cybersecurity program will allow for better exposure and advertising and will increase student interest.
- Tanya Gonzalez and Gregory Paul presented the first reading for a BA and BS in Advertising and Public Relations at K-State. This program creates a way to clearly highlight a current program within their Mass Communication degree offered through the A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass

Communications. Developing a stand-alone program will allow students to more clearly indicate their focus on a resume and enables the program to be more responsive to industry needs in a rapidly changing field. The program will use existing courses and faculty.

These programs will be up for a second reading and vote at the next COCAO meeting.

2nd Readings

Howard Smith moved to approve the KUMC request to offer an MS in Health Data Science, and Shirley Lefever seconded the motion. With no comments or questions, the motion passed unanimously through a roll call vote. The program will move forward to COPS later in the day for approval.

Other Requests

Robert Klein presented an off-campus academic specialty program request from KUMC for ten years.
 Information and data showing success can be found on page 47 of the agenda. The program aims to increase the number of physicians practicing in central and western Kansas, and campuses are located in Wichita and Salina. Off-campus academic specialty programs are presented for approval for a period not to exceed ten years.

Howard Smith moved to approve the off-campus academic specialty program request from KUMC, and Tanya Gonzalez seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously through a roll call vote.

Jill Arensdorf presented a request to rename FHSUs Center for Civic Leadership to the Center for Civic Learning and Engagement. FHSU is getting ready to go through a Carnegie elective classification process and believes this is an opportunity to better align the name of the center with the work the center is doing and the expectations of the Carnegie classifications. No additional resources will be used for this request to rename a center, which was brought to COCAO for informational purposes. As such, no vote was required.

Council of Faculty Senate Presidents (COFSP) Update

Janet Stramel, Chair and FHSU Faculty Senate President, provided the update. Later in the day, the council plans to discuss the rpk GROUP presentation. She noted the CoFSP has some concerns with analysis of program duplication and that institutional mission should be taken into account with the analysis. The council continues to review AP cut scores for college credit and has sent the approved systemwide scores to department heads for their review. The council will report back final cut score recommendations in May.

Adjournment

The next COCAO meeting is scheduled virtually for March 16, 2022.

Barbara Bichelmeyer moved to adjourn the meeting, and Shirley Lefever seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the meeting adjourned at 9:36 a.m.