

## Kansas Promise Scholarship Act FAQ's

Refer to the Kansas Promise Scholarship Act, the Board of Regents' administrative rules and regulations, and the applicable Student Scholarship Agreement as the primary sources for addressing all questions about the Kansas Promise Scholarship Act. This FAQ is intended to assist institutions to administer the Scholarship Program but does not have the force and effect of law and to the extent inconsistent with one or more of the primary sources is not controlling. The following responses are based on the law of [Publication date] and may change with any further amendments to the law that ultimately impact future requirements and allowable scholarship grants.

#### Q 1. What are the student eligibility requirements to qualify for the Kansas Promise Scholarship?

To be eligible for a Kansas Promise Scholarship award, a Student must:

- Be a U.S. citizen; AND
- Be a Kansas resident; AND
- Have a family household income of:
  - o \$100,000 or less for a family of one or two
  - o \$150,000 or less for a family of three, or
  - o for household sizes above three, a household income that is equal to or less than the family of three amount plus \$4,800 for each additional family member; AND
- Meet one of the following criteria:
  - Have graduated from a Kansas secondary school within the preceding 12 months;
     OR
  - Have attended a Kansas secondary school and, within the preceding 12 months, obtained a high school equivalency credential (e.g. GED); OR
  - Be a Kansas resident for three or more consecutive years immediately preceding application for the scholarship; OR
  - Be a dependent child of a military servicemember permanently stationed in another state; for dependent children of military servicemembers stationed in another state, the applicant must have, within the preceding 12 months, graduated from any out-of-state secondary school or obtained a high school equivalency; OR
  - Have been in the custody of the secretary for children and families at any time such Student was enrolled in and attending any of the grades nine through 12 and not eligible for assistance under the Kansas foster child educational assistance act.

To receive a Kansas Promise Scholarship award, initial or renewal, the Student must also:

- Complete the required Kansas Promise Scholarship application; AND
- Complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA); AND

- Enter into a Kansas Promise Scholarship Agreement with KBOR; AND
- Enroll in an eligible program at an eligible institution (may be part-time or full-time but enrolled in at least 6 hours in the summer, fall, or spring semester).

Any Student who entered into a Kansas Promise Scholarship Agreement under the provisions of the Kansas Promise Scholarship Act as such Act existed at the time such Agreement was entered into, and who remains eligible under those provisions and their Agreement, shall be entitled to continue to receive and renew the Promise Scholarship.

To be eligible to renew a Kansas Promise Scholarship and avoid repayment of the award, the Student must also:

- Maintain satisfactory academic progress as required by Federal Financial Aid, including a
  grade point average of 2.0 or higher in the courses of the promise eligible program AND
- Complete the Promise eligible program for which the Scholarship was awarded within 36 months of the date that the Scholarship was first awarded; AND
- Otherwise satisfy the requirements of the Kansas Promise Scholarship Agreement

The Kansas Promise Scholarship is a last dollar scholarship. Scholarship recipients have a lifetime limit of 68 Promise Scholarship funded credit hours, or a total of \$20,000 in Promise Scholarship awards – whichever occurs first. Each student will have 36 months to complete their Promise eligible program; after the 36-month timeline has been reached, the Student will no longer be eligible for further funding for that program and, if the program was not completed within the 36-month timeline, the Student will be required to repay the Promise Scholarship with interest.

K.S.A. 74-32,276 requires institutions to "counsel each eligible student on the requirements and conditions of the promise scholarship agreement."

#### Q 2. What are the service agreement requirements?

- Within six months after completing the Promise eligible program:
  - Reside in and commence work in the State of Kansas for at least two consecutive years, OR
  - enroll in a *Kansas* institution of higher education and upon graduation or failure to re-enroll reside in and commence work in the State of Kansas for at least two consecutive years, OR
  - o commence service as a military servicemember any time after receiving the Promise Scholarship.

#### Q 3. What is considered an eligible institution for the Promise Scholarship?

The Kansas Promise Scholarship Act defines eligible institutions as including only Kansas public 2-year colleges (community colleges, technical colleges, and Washburn Institute of Technology) and any Kansas private independent institution meeting the definition in K.S.A. 2024 Supp. 74-32,271(b)(1)(C) (some of which are four-year institutions) that offer a Promise eligible program.

The Kansas public four-year institutions (the six state universities and Washburn University) and many private independent four-year institutions are not eligible institutions for purposes of the Promise Act. None of the private, for-profit higher education institutions are eligible.

Q 4. I have a question regarding KS Promise Scholarship eligibility and U.S. citizenship status. If a student meets KS residency requirements, are there any limitations based on citizenship status? Are permanent residents, or DACA, DREAMers, or other undocumented citizens eligible for the KS Promise Act? What about international students?

Students must be U.S. citizens to be eligible for the Promise Scholarship.

## Q 5. Does the FAFSA need to be "valid" with an SAI to meet the definition of being a complete FAFSA? Does the FAFSA have to be free of error codes?

The Kansas Promise Scholarship Act states that a student must complete the FAFSA to qualify for consideration for a Promise Scholarship award. If a Student is unable to complete the FAFSA, with or without assistance, the Student would not be eligible for a Promise Scholarship. A completed FAFSA application is one that has produced a valid Institutional Student Information Record (ISIR). A valid ISIR is one that has not been rejected and has been assigned a Student Aid Index (SAI).

The Kansas Promise Scholarship Act also states the FAFSA must be free of error codes. We are taking this to mean that any processes (such as verification), c codes or reject codes that require resolution must be resolved, and the FAFSA must be complete and able to be reviewed for aid eligibility. Examples would be a student needing to complete verification before they can be reviewed for and receive aid, or a student needing to make a correction to conflicting data on their FAFSA before you can move forward with reviewing their FAFSA for aid. In the event that verification (or other processes/errors/codes) is waived for allowable reasons, then we would consider that process/error to be complete/resolved. In the event no follow up is required on a particular code, then we would consider that code to be resolved.

Q 6. To verify that the time frame "within 12 months of high school graduation" is from Graduation date to Scholarship Application Date? Or from Graduation Date to First Date of classes?

The timeframe for the 12 months from high school graduation would be from date of graduation until the date of submitting the application for the Scholarship. For Students who obtain an equivalent credential like the GED, it would be from the date of receiving the credential until the date of submitting the application for the Scholarship.

#### Q 7. What is "part-time" enrollment?

The Kansas Promise Scholarship Act defines "part-time" enrollment as six or more credit hours in the fall, spring or summer semester, and less than full-time.

Q 8. If a student has to sit out a semester because there are no courses offered for their degree, would they be in violation of their agreement?

The Promise Act only requires that a Promise Scholarship Recipient take at least 6 credit hours or more in the fall, spring, or summer to remain eligible, but they should keep in mind the legislation carries an overall time limit of 36 months to complete the program.

Q 9. If a student has to have less than half-time enrollment due to it being their last semester to obtain their degree, is Kansas Promise allowed to pay for these hours?

Yes.

#### Q 10. Can a person with a bachelor's degree apply/qualify for the Promise scholarship?

Nothing in the Kansas Promise Scholarship Act precludes a Student with a bachelor's degree from qualifying for the Promise Scholarship as long as they meet all requirements listed in Q1.

### Q 11. Is it ok for a student to start classes prior to meeting all scholarship requirements as long as the funds are not awarded until after all requirements are met?

The Student could begin courses but cannot be awarded the Promise Scholarship until requirements for the Scholarship are met. A student must have submitted a complete application (including a complete FAFSA) by the end of the semester/term they are wanting the award for in order to be considered for a Promise scholarship for that semester. If a semester/term has already passed before the student had a complete application, then the student will only be considered for current/future semester awards. Awards cannot be given retroactively for a time before the student was eligible. For example, if a student was determined ineligible based on not living in Kansas for three years, but then in the middle of the semester they hit three years of living in Kansas, they cannot be considered for Promise for that current semester — but could be considered for future semesters. The Student would need to understand that they might not be awarded the Promise Scholarship if they do not meet the requirements or if insufficient funds remain to make the award.

## Q 12. Are there Satisfactory Academic Progress standards or do we follow the policy of the institution? Can a student appeal?

The satisfactory academic progress standards are those that are established by each institution's policies for other Federal Financial Aid programs. In addition, students must maintain a grade point average of 2.0 or higher in promise-eligible program courses. According to the Promise Act, Institutions will need to determine satisfactory academic progress. Institutions can provide for an appeal process. Students must meet satisfactory academic progress, including maintaining a grade point average of 2.0 or higher in promise-eligible program courses, in order to be eligible for Promise Act funding.

# Q 13. Can a student be eligible for Promise Act funds if the student is on Federal Aid Suspension? Financial Aid Suspension is a status assigned to Students who fail to meet the minimum satisfactory academic progress requirements established by their institution's financial aid office. Students must meet satisfactory academic progress in the courses of the promise-eligible program in order to be eligible for Promise Act funding. Institutions can provide for an appeal process.

### Q 14. Is there a credit hour limit a student can utilize Promise Act dollars to apply towards expenses in eligible programs?

The Kansas Promise Scholarship Act limits the number of credit hours for which a Promise Scholarship Recipient may receive Promise Scholarship assistance to 68 Promise Scholarship funded credit hours, or a total of \$20,000 in Promise Scholarship awards — whichever occurs first. The Promise Scholarship Recipient must also complete the Promise eligible program, regardless of the number of hours, within 36 months of the first day of class in the semester for which the Promise Scholarship is first awarded.

## Q 15. Are colleges allowed to add additional requirements for receiving the scholarship, or is it first come first serve based on the requirements set by the state? For example, could we require minimum test scores, pre-requisites classes.

Institutions determine eligibility for enrollment in the institution's programs but cannot set additional eligibility criteria for the Kansas Promise Scholarship beyond those established in the Promise Act. If a Student is not qualified to enroll in a particular program, the Student is not eligible for a Promise Scholarship for that program, nor can the Student use a Promise Scholarship to become qualified for the program. Kansas Promise Scholarship Recipients cannot use the Promise Scholarship award for remedial or prerequisite classes, except for prerequisites that are a required component of the eligible program (*i.e.*, required to be taken as a part of the program rather than to become eligible for admission to the program) or remedial courses offered in a corequisite format and required as part of the eligible program.

Institutions are required to process applications of eligible Students in the order they are submitted – the Promise Scholarship is a first come, first serve scholarship.

Q 16. "Complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid" is the listed requirement. Is a student also required to complete all outstanding financial aid requirements in order to qualify? Or is FAFSA completion enough?

The Student would need to complete the FAFSA, the Promise Scholarship application and meet all other eligibility and qualifying requirements listed in Q1. A complete FAFSA is defined as one that has produced a valid Institutional Student Information Record (ISIR). A valid ISIR is one that has not been rejected and has been assigned a Student Aid Index (SAI). Once a Student has been determined eligible for a Promise Scholarship, the Student must also enter a Scholarship Agreement with KBOR to acknowledge that they understand and agree that they need to live and work in Kansas following the completion of their program of study or else repay the Scholarship award.

- Q 17. Has it been determined what is going to be used on the FAFSA to verify the family income? Income threshold will be determined by the adjusted gross income (AGI). AGI only needs to be reviewed for new applicants. A change in AGI will not affect the eligibility of Renewal students who were previously determined eligible.
- Q 18. The Promise Act requires students to fill out the FAFSA in order to be eligible for the scholarship. And institutions are to use the household income and family sizes in order to determine a student's eligibility. For financial aid purposes, we can perform a professional judgement to update or change a student's family size or household income, do we have the same ability to do that when processing Promise Act students?

The institution's financial aid office may implement professional judgement when determining a family's income for the Promise Scholarship. Family income can change dramatically from one year to the next. We want to be sure that Students are not disadvantaged for this Scholarship due to lagging FAFSA data for family income. Family income will be determined only at the time the Scholarship is initially awarded; an increase in family income above the statutory limits after the Scholarship has been awarded will not alter the Student's eligibility for renewals up to the 36 months and lifetime limits.

Q 19. If a parent refuses to provide documentation for the FAFSA for their dependent student, will the student qualify for Promise?

Completing the FAFSA is a requirement of the Kansas Promise Scholarship Act. A completed FAFSA application is one that has produced a valid Institutional Student Information Record (ISIR). A valid ISIR is one that has not been rejected and has been assigned a Student Aid Index (SAI).

Q 20. Will students at community colleges (CC) who want to transfer in to KSTEP UP, Kansas State University, College of Education, be eligible for the Promise scholarship for their time at the CC, or is that dependent upon the offerings of each college? As you may recall, [Kansas State University has] a partnership with Kansas City Kansas Community College and Seward County Community College, and we think there are students at CCs across the state who could also benefit from this pathway to teaching.

Students in associate degree or career and technical education certificate or stand-alone programs in the field of early childhood education and development at any community college, technical college, Washburn Institute of Technology or eligible private independent postsecondary institution in Kansas would be eligible for the Promise Scholarship (assuming the Student otherwise qualifies as required by the Kansas Promise Scholarship Act). Completing a baccalaureate degree with K-State could delay the Promise Act two-year Kansas employment

requirement until the Promise Scholarship Recipient graduates or fails to re-enroll. As the public four-year universities are not eligible institutions under the Kansas Promise Scholarship Act, Students would not have this particular Scholarship available to them to help fund a baccalaureate or other advanced degree while at K-State or any other institution that is not eligible to award Promise Scholarships as noted in the answer to Question 3.

- Q 21. Can a student graduate with an associate degree and then immediately transfer to a 4-yr institution to get a bachelor's degree, or do they have to start working immediately following the associate program? Is there paperwork associated with transferring from a 2-yr institution to a 4-yr institution to defer the agreement until they finish with a bachelor's degree? If a Promise Scholarship Recipient continues on to complete their bachelor's degree, they may choose to defer their live-and-work-in-Kansas obligation until they have completed that degree or fail to re-enroll at least part-time. At that time, they would need to begin their live-and-work-in-Kansas obligation. The Promise Scholarship Recipient would need to complete and submit the KBOR Kansas Promise Service Scholarship Program Recipient Status Verification Form to KBOR indicating the reason for their deferment and verify the enrollment through the 4-year institution.
- Q 22. If a student attends an eligible program and receives a Promise Scholarship and then transfers to [an]other Kansas Community College to enroll in an eligible program how are we going to know how many months of eligibility the student has left?
  KBOR will track how many months of eligibility a Promise Scholarship Recipient has left through the online application system. If a Recipient reaches the 36-month time limit, KBOR will inform the institution to deny any further awards to the Recipient. If the Recipient has not completed a Promise eligible program within the 36-month timeframe, KBOR will notify the Recipient of their obligation to repay the Scholarship funds.
- Q 23. If a KS Promise scholarship student enrolled in an approved Associates level transfer program (at the CC), transfers to the four-year institution prior to completion of the Associates, but remains in the same discipline at the four-year institution how is their eligibility impacted? Under promise does the student have to complete the associates degree prior to transferring to a four-year institution?

In order to meet the requirements of the Promise Scholarship and avoid repayment of the award, the Promise Scholarship Recipient is required to complete the program for which the Scholarship was awarded within 36 months from the date of the first day of class for which the Promise Scholarship was first awarded. If the Scholarship is awarded for an Associate Degree program, the Promise Scholarship Recipient would need to earn the Associate Degree within the 36-month timeframe. This could be done through reverse transfer if that can be accomplished within the 36 months.

Q 24. Can a student receive this scholarship for three consecutive academic years if completing within a 36-month period (if the student is attending part-time)?

Yes, the only time limit is the 36-month period required by the Act and enrollment in at least six credit hours in the summer, fall or spring semester.

Q 25. If a student is working on two programs and finish[es] both in 36 months, do they get the Promise Act money for both programs? If a student completes one Kansas Promise Program using the scholarship, are they eligible to complete a second qualifying program and get the scholarship again?

The statute does not preclude more than one program funded by a Promise Scholarship. As long as the Student meets the eligibility requirements, we do not believe there is anything that

precludes the Student from applying for and being awarded Promise Scholarship funding for another eligible program, as long as all Promise Scholarship funded programs are completed within the 36-month timeframe and the Student does not exceed the \$20,000 or 68 credit hour lifetime limits.

Q 26. If an eligible student is awarded the scholarship to complete the certificate in a qualifying field and completes the certificate successfully, then can the student immediately reapply and receive the scholarship to complete an associate degree in that same field? Does the 36-month completion requirement start over?

A Student may enroll in both the short-term and longer-term exit points in the same program. If the Promise-eligible program for which the Promise Scholarship is awarded is a career and technical education associate degree or certificate program that leads to multiple or stacked credentials, the Scholarship Recipient shall be required to complete, within 36 months of the Scholarship Recipient's first day of class in the semester for which the Promise Scholarship is first awarded, only the number of credit hours necessary to earn the first credential in that program. The Student is also limited to a maximum of 68 credit hours or \$20,000, whichever occurs first.

- Q 27. If a student completes a technical certificate and gets the scholarship and then receives a scholarship for their AAS, but doesn't complete the AAS portion, what does the student owe back? The entire tech certificate and AAS funding or only the AAS scholarship amount?

  Regarding repayment, the Student will enter into one Scholarship Agreement. Repayment would only be required for any Scholarship award for which the terms and conditions of the Scholarship Agreement attached to that award are not met. In this case, involving just one program with multiple exit points, the Student would have met the requirements by completing the certificate within the 36-month timeframe, so they would not have to repay any portion of the Scholarship assuming they also meet the service requirement (within 6 months of graduating, living and working in Kansas for 2 consecutive years) and any other requirements of the Act and their Scholarship Agreement. The Student would be subject to the 68 credit hour or \$20,000, whichever occurs first, lifetime limit.
- Q 28. Can students enrolled in our Kansas State prison program, which is an eligible Promise program, apply and receive a Kansas Promise Scholarship? They are receiving a Pell Grant; however, the amount is not enough to cover tuition, fee, books, and supplies.

  Incarcerated individuals who meet all the statutory eligibility requirements are eligible to receive a Promise Act Scholarship to further their skills and training to be ready for the workforce upon release. These individuals may need to obtain prior permission from their Warden in order to be able to sign the Promise Scholarship agreement, which is determined on a case-by-case basis. The institution and the applicant should take into consideration that the Scholarship Recipient will be required to meet the reside-and-work-in Kansas requirement upon completion of the Program to avoid repayment of the scholarship unless the Scholarship Recipient relies upon one of the deferral options.
- Q 29. "Upon completion of the program, students must reside and work in Kansas for a minimum of two consecutive years or enroll in a Kansas institution of higher education and subsequently reside and work in Kansas for a minimum of two consecutive years." Does this mean that they are required to work while attending school? In relation to this, once a student is finished with their community college program and decides they want to continue their education at a 4-year KS university, are they allowed to complete their service requirement while enrolled at the 4-year institution?

Upon completing their Promise eligible program, a Promise Act Scholarship Recipient may defer the two-year reside-and-work-in-Kansas requirement by enrolling at least part-time, within six months of completing the Promise eligible program, in a Kansas postsecondary institution. Once the Promise Scholarship Recipient's degree is completed or the Recipient fails to re-enroll, the two-year live-and-work-in-Kansas requirement commences. If the Scholarship Recipient has sought and obtained a deferment, the two consecutive year reside-and-work-in-Kansas requirement "clock" does not begin while the Recipient is continuously enrolled at a postsecondary educational institution.

Promise Act Scholarship Recipients must either defer their work requirement or begin their work requirement upon completion of the Promise Act program. It is permissible for a Promise Scholarship Recipient to begin their work requirement while completing another program at a Kansas institution if they choose not to defer the requirement but should keep in mind that the reside-and-work-in-Kansas requirement is for two *consecutive* years and does not begin until after the Promise eligible program for which the Recipient received the Scholarship has been completed.

## Q 30. If students are working full time in the field while they are completing the certificate or associate degree in the eligible field, does this time count towards the 2-year commitment to Kansas?

No, the Promise Act states that the two-year work requirement commences within six months *after* completion of the agreed-to Promise eligible program. Therefore, working in Kansas while completing the program does not satisfy the post-program two consecutive years work requirement of the Promise Act.

### Q 31. Service Requirement: What if someone lives outside the state of Kansas, but only works in Kansas?

The Promise Act requires each recipient of a Promise Scholarship to reside AND work in Kansas for at least two consecutive years after completion of the Promise eligible program. Work in Kansas alone will not satisfy this requirement.

## Q 32. Regarding the term "work in Kansas" for the Kansas Promise Scholarship Act, are the students required to work full-time or can they work part-time post-graduation?

The Promise Act does not require Scholarship recipients to work full-time to fulfill their work in Kansas obligation. Scholarship recipients may work on a part-time basis, while residing in Kansas, for two consecutive years "post-graduation" to fulfill their work obligation.

## Q 33. If the student does not return the information as far as post-promise act, who is responsible for getting the information? Same question for collection of repayment by the student if they choose not to comply with the agreement?

The institution will be required to obtain a completed application and a completed FAFSA from the Student and will be responsible for processing the completed applications in the order they are received and routing those processed applications to KBOR.

While each institution will be responsible for counseling Students on the requirements and conditions of the Promise Scholarship Agreement and providing Students with required notices and other information, KBOR will be responsible for contacting the Student to sign the Promise Scholarship Agreement and will notify the institution when an Agreement has been fully executed. The institution will then officially award the Student the Promise Scholarship.

Additionally, the institution will track each Promise Scholarship Recipient's residence and satisfactory academic progress while enrolled at the institution, and after the Scholarship Recipient is no longer enrolled will annually provide to KBOR the last known contact information for that person until they have met all the requirements of the program and the Scholarship Agreement. Scholarship recipients will also be required to submit the information that is needed

to track their residence and work status (or deferment) directly to KBOR after they are no longer enrolled at the institution.

KBOR will track award limitations, including the 68-credit hour limit, the \$20,000 total award limit, and the 36-month timeframe limit, with the assistance of the institutions. A Scholarship Recipient can be considered in default and will need to repay the amount of the Promise Scholarship assistance they received, plus interest, for failure to meet any of the Kansas Promise Act requirements, as set forth in their Scholarship Agreement. KBOR will be responsible for recouping repayment funds. Repayments will be made to KBOR and deposited in the Promise Scholarship Fund for reuse.

Q 34. If students do not complete their studies within 36 months, does the claw back (and thus collections) start in month 37; or is there a grace period?

There is a grace period of 180 days from the time of failure to comply before repayment must begin, although repayment is due and owing at the time of the failure to comply and interest would begin to accrue as of that date. If the failure to comply is a result of not completing the program within 36 months of the first award of the Scholarship, the 180-day "clock" would begin when the 36-month time-period has elapsed.

- Q 35. Regarding seeking repayment of funds: when does that 36-month trigger begin?

  The 36-month timeframe begins on the first day of class in the semester for which the Promise Scholarship is first awarded.
- Q 36. Who will determine if a student has "defaulted" (for lack of a better term) and who will collect those funds from the students?

Institutions will notify KBOR when each Promise Scholarship Recipient (1) completes the promise eligible program, (2) exhausts Promise Scholarship benefits, or (3) exceeds the 36-month program completion requirement and will annually provide KBOR the last known contact information of each Promise Scholarship Recipient until the Recipient has satisfied the requirements of the program and Promise Scholarship Agreement. Each Promise Scholarship Recipient will be required to annually provide to KBOR information regarding their residence and work status. KBOR will use this institution and Scholarship Recipient provided information and other available data to determine whether a Recipient is no longer in compliance with the Agreement and is in repayment status. Any repayments from the Scholarship Recipient are to be remitted to KBOR as provided in the Recipient's Scholarship Agreement.

- Q 37. The time period in which interest is applied is based on the first award of the scholarship to last verifiable date that a student was employed and a resident of the state of Kansas, correct?

  Effective April 24, 2025, the interest rate applicable to all current and new Scholarship Agreements is 5% per annum. However, interest does not begin to accrue until the date of first failure to satisfy the terms and conditions of the Scholarship Agreement.
- Q 38. "Employed" does not mean employed in the strict (denotation) sense, correct? For example, a student that completed a program, remained in Kansas, pursued employment but was unfortunate in their job search would not have to repay the scholarship funds, correct? Same question for gaps in employment over the two subsequent years, as long as the student remained in Kansas and sought employment then no requirement for repayment, correct?

  The Kansas Promise Scholarship Act requires that each Recipient of a Promise Scholarship must, within six months of completing the program or other qualified education, "commence work within the state of Kansas for at least two consecutive years following completion of such program [or other qualified education]. A scholarship recipient may use a W-2 wage and tax statement showing Kansas withholding or estimated income tax to the state of Kansas as proof of work in

Kansas." However, a Promise Scholarship Recipient may be released from the repayment requirement "if there are special circumstances that caused such student to be unable to complete such requirements." KBOR would determine whether such special circumstances exist. Also, the Promise Scholarship Act provides that "a scholarship recipient satisfies the requirements of the Kansas Promise Scholarship Program [and therefore would not have to repay] if such recipient . . . (4) is unable to obtain employment or continue in employment after making the best possible effort to do so." The Student/Scholarship Recipient will need to seek a release from or postponement of the repayment requirement by making an appropriate application to the KBOR with supporting documentation, as required in the Scholarship Agreement.

Q 39. I am assuming that the student would have to be seeking employment in the examples above, is that correct or is the legislation silent on this issue?

The Kansas Promise Scholarship Act does not define "special circumstances" or "best possible effort," but use of these terms indicates that it should be the exception rather than the norm for a Recipient to not be held responsible for repayment if the Recipient does not meet the live-and-work-in Kansas requirements, and it would generally have to be due to circumstances beyond the Recipient's control (e.g. not the Recipient's choice to reside or work out-of-state or to accept Kansas employment instead of completing the Promise eligible program).

Q 40. In the unfortunate case of homelessness, where residency cannot be established, will students be required to repay the scholarship?

The statute requires only that the student live in Kansas. But the student would still have to be able to prove they were working for the two-year period. The same exceptions to repayment discussed in the answers to previous questions would apply to the "living in Kansas" requirement as well as the employment requirement.

Q 41. If a spouse of a military service member gets the scholarship, then during the 2-year service component, the military relocates the recipient and family outside of KS, would that be considered an exception outside of the recipient's control where the scholarship doesn't revert to a loan?

That is a decision for KBOR to make on an individual case-by-case basis.

#### Q 42. Can applicants change majors after starting?

Yes, but only if they change to another Promise eligible program and still complete the program within 36 months of the initial Promise Scholarship award. Failure to do so will require repayment of the Scholarship.

Q 43. You mentioned that a student could defer their service requirement (and having to pay back the money) if they took a 2+2 at a university. What if they want to take another qualifying program with us? For example, they took our Carpentry program and want to then take our plumbing program. This equates to an associate's degree in Building and Construction Trades. This could all be completed in the allotted 36 months. Would they have to declare their intent to pursue the associate degree in year 1? Most of our students don't, they decide to marry two certificates together after they take one program.

Students may participate in as many programs as they like as long as they complete each program for which they received a Promise Scholarship within 36 months of the date of the start of the first class for which the Scholarship was first awarded and then, within six months of completing the programs or any other qualifying additional education, commence work (and continue living) in Kansas for two consecutive years. No declaration of pursuing an associate degree is required. However, there is a limit on the total lifetime amount of Promise Scholarship a Student may receive: 68 Promise Scholarship funded credit hours or \$20,000, whichever occurs first.

- Q 44. What if a student were to marry say, Carpentry, to a non-qualifying program such as Business Management (which a good number of students do so they can open their own business)? I realize the Business Management would not qualify for Promise Act funding, but does it qualify for the student to defer their service? What if it was Carpentry (a certificate B program) and Electricity (an associate's degree program), both are qualifying but the student would not complete in 36 months, can they defer their service to complete these two degrees? Should a Promise Scholarship Recipient start another program at their existing institution, they may choose to defer their reside-and-work-in-Kansas commitment for as long as they meet the part-time or full-time enrollment requirements as defined in the Act. However, the requirement for completing the Promise program within 36 months of the start of the first class funded with a Promise Scholarship cannot be deferred or forgiven for the reason described in the question.
- Q 45. Regarding the previous question, since both are qualifying programs, could they get Promise Act money for it? These are fairly common combinations that serve the student, our community, and our institution well.

Students may participate in as many programs as they like as long as they complete each program for which they received a Promise Scholarship within 36 months of the date of the start of the first class for which the Scholarship was first awarded and then, within six months of completing the programs or any other qualifying additional education, commence work (and continue living) in Kansas for two consecutive years. However, there are limits on the total life-time amount of Promise Scholarship a Student may receive: 68 Promise Scholarship funded credit hours or \$20,000, whichever occurs first.

#### Q 46. Are remedial courses covered?

The Kansas Promise Scholarship Act prohibits using Promise Scholarship awards to fund any remedial course, as defined in K.S.A. 76-7,151, unless the course is offered in a corequisite format and is a required course for a Promise eligible program. Scholarship Recipients have only 36 months from the date of the beginning of the first class funded with a Promise Scholarship to complete the Program.

- Q 47. In most cases, remedial courses are not going to be a "requirement" for a program (nor count towards hours for degree/graduation in the pathway), rather, are a pre-requisite for meeting placement in a course that IS a requirement. (Intermediate Algebra for entrance into College Algebra; Basic English for Composition I, etc.) So, would those be covered by the Kansas Promise Scholarship? There are other "non-remedial" courses that are a pre-requisite for a required course like Biology for Anatomy & Physiology, or College Algebra as pre-requisite for Calculus I (Algebra isn't on the pathway listing as Calculus I is the required Math course.) "Prerequisite" classes that are designated courses within the Promise eligible program, are eligible for Promise Scholarship funding. "Prerequisite" classes that are not designated courses within the Promise eligible program (for instance classes that are prerequisites for acceptance into the program), are not eligible for Promise Scholarship funding. In addition, prerequisite course requirements, if part of the program, may delay the Scholarship Recipient's completion of the program. Adding the prerequisite courses may push the Student beyond 36 months, which would require the Scholarship Recipient to repay the Promise Scholarship, plus interest.
- Q 48. Since several Stand-Alone Programs (SAP) have less than 6 credits (i.e. C.N.A.) and the law requires a minimum of 6 hours be enrolled, then a student would need to enroll in at least one additional hour to qualify for the KS Promise Act Scholarship. In that case, would a student need to pay out-of-pocket for the additional credit since it isn't part of the qualifying SAP Program?

In order to qualify for the Kansas Promise Scholarship, the Student is required to be enrolled in a minimum of 6 credit hours in the fall, spring, or summer semester in the academic year for which

the Scholarship is awarded. If the Student enrolls in a program that is less than 6 credit hours, in order to meet the minimum number of credit hours for the Promise Scholarship the Student will need to take a course that is not part of their Promise eligible program, and the Student would need to pay for the additional hour(s) from a source other than the Promise Scholarship unless they are starting, and the credit hour is a part of, another Promise-eligible program.

Q 49. If a student does earn the C.N.A. and utilizes the scholarship for that SAP and then wants to continue to earn additional credentials in other qualifying SAP programs (HHA, CMA, etc.) then would they be able to also utilize the Promise scholarship for those additional programs as well?

Students may participate in as many programs as they like as long as they complete each program for which they received a Promise Scholarship within 36 months of the date of the start of the first class for which the Scholarship was first awarded and then, within six months of completing the programs or any other qualifying additional education, commence work (and continue living) in Kansas for two consecutive years. The 2022 Legislature did place limits on the total life-time amount of Promise Scholarship a Student may receive: 68 Promise Scholarship funded credit hours or \$20,000, whichever occurs first.

- Q 50. If an approved program for an AAS degree has embedded certificates in it (the CIP and approved program has multiple awards possible, Cert A, Cert B, Cert C) is a student considered a "completer" if we initially list them as an AAS Major in that program, yet only complete the technical certificate level? Concern would be if a student doesn't complete the AAS, but does complete at least one of the Cert awards would they be considered a "non-completer" in the program and have to repay the scholarship? It looks as if the application is only asking for "program of study" indicated by a CIP, and not necessarily the award level.

  The 36-month clock starts running when the Promise Scholarship Recipient enters the Promise eligible program (first day of the first class in that program). As for completion of a program, if a Scholarship Recipient completes any exit point (Cert A, B, C, and AAS) in that CIP, they have
- Q 51. What consideration will be made for students applying for competitive entry programs such as healthcare? These will often require prerequisites can those be covered by the scholarship? Prerequisites must be embedded in the Promise eligible program to be covered and would count toward the time to complete. If courses are not part of the program (for instance if they are prerequisites to acceptance into the program), they are not eligible for Promise Scholarship funding.
- Q 52. If an institution has an additional recommended requirement for students to complete (First Year Experience –FYE) that isn't listed specifically on the AAS program requirement in Program Inventory, would that course be covered by Promise Act? If not, then should it be listed as an "optional" elective in Program Inventory (PI) in order for it to be covered?

  Programs in KHEDS should reflect all required courses. If the course is required to complete the program, please update KHEDS accordingly. If the course is an optional elective, it should be included in the program within at least one of the blocks. If the course is not in the program, it is not eligible for Promise Act funding.
- Q 53. We are allowed to move to the "field of study", will we need to wait the three years?

  Any Student(s) who were awarded a Promise Scholarship for the Year-One institution-designated program will need to be taught out in that program, until their Promise Scholarship eligibility has been exhausted. For the vast majority of institutions whose chosen program will fall within their field of study selection, this change will simply expand the number of programs that will qualify for Promise Scholarships. However, for institutions whose field of study selection does not include

completed the program.

the initial additional program they selected, while they will need to allow existing Students to be taught out, they won't be authorized to offer any new Student a Promise Scholarship in the old identified additional program after May 26, 2022, the effective date of the 2022 amendments to the Kansas Promise Scholarship Act. Of course, the institution would be able to offer Promise Scholarships for programs in the newly designated field of study area. After May 26, 2022, institutions must wait three years to change their chosen field of study.

### Q 54. Must a technical program be financial aid eligible for students to be eligible for the Promise scholarship?

The Kansas Promise Scholarship Act does not make financial aid eligibility a requirement for award of a Promise Scholarship. Only the requirements of the Act must be met.

## Q 55. It sounds like education is not part of the four program areas, but if selected by a community college, it could be one of their optional additional programs.

Early childhood education and development is one of the four designated fields of study identified in the Act that qualifies as Promise eligible, and all 19 community colleges offer some form of associate degree in early childhood education. A smaller number (including KCK and Garden City) also offer a career technical program in early childhood education, and those qualify for the Promise Scholarship as well.

### Q 56. Is the college required to offer the scholarship for all of the programs on our approved list every year? Or are we allowed to only include programs that we want to include?

Colleges must offer a Promise Scholarship for an eligible program – they cannot limit Promise Scholarships to specific Promise eligible programs or deny Promise Scholarships for eligible Students in eligible programs. Once a Promise Scholarship has been awarded for an eligible Program, that Program must continue to be offered for as long as it takes for each Student who was awarded a Promise Scholarship for that Program to reach their 36-month limit, completion of the Program, or lifetime award limits, whichever occurs first. For the Institution's additional designated Year-One Program, the Program must be maintained for as long as it takes for each Student who was awarded a Promise Scholarship for that Program to reach their 36-month limit, lifetime limits, or completion of the program.

#### Q 57. Will institutions receive an allocated amount each year to award from?

Institutions will no longer receive an allocated amount each year as scholarship funds are now required to be awarded on a first come, first served basis. 2022 amendments to the Kansas Promise Scholarship Act require that KBOR instead reimburse the amount of awards that are made by an institution on a quarterly basis. KBOR will work to ensure that there will be funds available to renew Promise Scholarships for Students who are already awarded at each institution.

#### Q 58. When will institutions receive reimbursements for awards made to students?

Reimbursements will be made to institutions on a quarterly basis. The Promise Act requires institutions to request reimbursements each quarter by September 1, December 1, March 1, and June 1. These reimbursements are required to be made by KBOR to the institutions on or before September 15, December 15, March 15, and June 15 each year.

## Q 59. Are the Promise dollars considered State dollars or Federal dollars? Our auditors will require us to account for the dollars differently and we will need to set up our financial system different depending on the answer.

The Promise Scholarship dollars are State funds. The institution's Funds Disbursement Agreement contains guidance on how the funds should be managed by the institution.

#### Q 60. Is the amount awarded per semester? Or is it a lump sum?

The award must be made for an academic year but should be disbursed by semester and the award may need to be adjusted for other aid that comes to light during the course of the academic year.

- Q 61. Can Kansas Promise be awarded to students during the summer term of their schooling? Yes.
- Q 62. Our first disbursement for all scholarships and Federal Aid each semester is after our 20th day census date which is typically around the 15<sup>th</sup> of September for Fall and 15<sup>th</sup> of February for Spring. Does the disbursement to the student account have to be within a certain time frame of the beginning of the semester or are ok with including this scholarship in our normal process? There is no timeframe in the Act for disbursement of funds to student accounts. The institution can consider the disbursement of the Promise Scholarship to student accounts the same as their other scholarship programs. However, before an institution may "get-in-line" for the first come, first served statutory requirement and receive reimbursement, the funds must be applied to the student's account and be expended.

#### Q 63. Can you explain "last dollar scholarship" meaning?

Last-dollar scholarships are to be used only after all other financial aid resources have been awarded. The calculation of the last-dollar amount is based on the gap between what other aid has been awarded and what Promise Scholarship aid is still needed to help a Student meet the cost of the tuition, required fees, books and required materials of the program. For the Promise Scholarship, "aid" includes any grant, scholarship, or financial assistance awards that do not require repayment; student loans, work study, military educational benefits, and postsecondary savings accounts will not be included as counting toward the Student's financial aid resources.

Q 64. If a student has a scholarship come in later that semester, does that mean the money has to be put back in the Promise Act fund?

If this causes an over-award for the Student, then yes, an amount equal to the overage will need to be returned to KBOR.

Q 65. You mentioned that the Promise Act covers books, tuition, and fees. What about tool costs, supplies, and housing?

The Promise Scholarship will cover tuition, required fees, books, and required materials. If tools and supplies are required for the program of study and are on the course syllabus, they can be paid for with a Promise Scholarship. The Institution's Funds Disbursement Agreement specifies that "required materials" are "those that are required for every Student in each course within the Promise Eligible Program, and not deemed required for only Students who are awarded a Promise Scholarship." Housing costs are not included and may not be paid for from Kansas Promise Scholarship funds.

#### Q 66. Are tools and digital devices included in "materials"?

If tools and digital devices are required for the Student's Promise eligible program of study, they can be included as "required materials." The Institution's Funds Disbursement Agreement specifies that "required materials" are "those that are required for every student in each course within the Promise Eligible Program, and not deemed required for only students who are awarded a Promise Scholarship."

Q 67. For required tools and supplies can the college have the student purchase the items and get reimbursed with a receipt?

That would be up to the institution to decide if that is a desirable option. Institutions should simply document how a Promise Scholarship Recipient's award amount was calculated and what the Scholarship funds were used to pay for.

## Q 68. What are the reporting requirements for the College once a student has completed their certificate/degree?

Institutions will be required to report to KBOR when a Promise Scholarship Recipient has completed their certificate/degree by noting this on the Recipient's application in the online application system. An annual report will also be requested that will require this information. Institutions will also provide annually to KBOR each Promise Scholarship recipient's last known contact information until the requirements of the program and Promise Scholarship agreement are complete.

# Q 69. What are the reporting requirements for the College if a student drops/withdraws? Institutions will be required to report to KBOR when a Promise Scholarship Recipient has dropped/withdrawn by noting this on the Recipient's application in the online application system. An annual report will also be requested that will require this information.

## Q 70. Regarding the student application for the promise scholarship, can we put that in an electronic format or does the student need to complete this exact form?

Schools will be required to use the KBOR online application once it becomes available. Until then, the institution can put the application in an electronic format on the institution's website, but it must be in the form that was sent out by the KBOR office.

#### Q 71. What will the renewal scholarship application entail?

Promise Scholarship Recipients will be required to renew their Promise Scholarship by filling out the online application and selecting "renewal." Similar information from the initial application will be requested. The renewal indicates that the Student wants to continue to receive the award and allows a check-point for continued eligibility.

#### Q 72. Who can we contact if we have specific questions about the scholarship program?

Many KBOR staff are involved in different aspects of the Promise Act, so please submit your questions via the email, which is <a href="mailto:promise@ksbor.org">promise@ksbor.org</a>.