

ANNUAL REPORT ON EXCEPTIONS TO THE MINIMUM ADMISSION STANDARDS AT STATE UNIVERSITIES

January 2019

Receive Annual Report on Exceptions to the Minimum Admission Standards at State Universities

Summary and Recommendation

The report on admission of the 2017-2018 freshmen class and 2017-2018 transfer students are mandated by K.S.A. 76-717. This statute requires the Board to annually submit to the Legislature information on the following categories of student admissions: (1) the number and percentage of freshmen class admissions permitted as exceptions to the minimum admissions standards and (2) the number and percentage of transfer student admissions permitted as exceptions to the minimum admissions standards. Staff notes no state university exceeded the limit on the number of applicants admitted as exceptions to the minimum standards and recommends acceptance of this report for submission to the Legislature to fulfill reporting requirements. November 30, 2018

Background

From 1915 to 2001, Kansas had an open admission policy which guaranteed admission to anyone who graduated from an accredited high school in Kansas. In 1996, the Legislature passed K.S.A. 76-717, which established minimum admission standards for state universities. Those became effective in 2001. The statute requires the Board to annually submit to the Legislature information on undergraduate students admitted to state universities who did not meet minimum admission standards.

Minimum Admission Criteria for 2017-2018 Freshmen Applicants

K.S.A.76-717 requires resident and non-resident freshmen applicants under the age of 21 to meet one of the following criteria in order to gain admittance to a state university: (1) graduate from an accredited high school and earn a minimum ACT score of 21; (2) graduate from an accredited high school and rank in the top one-third of the class; (3) graduate from an accredited high school; or (4) graduate from an unaccredited high school and earn a minimum ACT score of 21; or (5) earn a GED with the prescribed minimum scores (Kansas residents only). Beginning in 2015 for all 2015 high school graduates and continuing currently, required of all applicants is the completion of the precollege curriculum with a GPA of at least 2.0 for residents and 2.5 for non-residents.

Kansas residents 21 and older must meet one of the following criteria in order to gain admittance to a state university as freshmen: (1) graduate from an accredited high school; (2) graduate from an unaccredited high school; or (3) earn a GED with the prescribed minimum scores. Non-resident freshmen applicants 21 and older must either (1) graduate from an accredited high school or (2) earn a GED with prescribed minimum scores for admission to a state university.

2017-2018 Freshmen Applicants

K.S.A. 76-717 requires that on or before January 31 of each year, the Board submit a report that includes the following information on the number and percentage of **resident freshmen class admissions permitted as exceptions** to the minimum admissions standards, disaggregated by institution. (Table 1). State universities may, at their discretion, admit applicants who do not meet the minimum freshmen admissions criteria, provided that the number of resident freshmen admitted as exceptions is limited to 10 percent of the university's total freshmen admissions. No institution exceeded the 10 percent limit.

	Exceptions	Admits	Percent
Emporia State University	104	1,428	7.3%
Fort Hays State University	69	1,930	3.6%
Kansas State University	390	7,700	5.1%
Pittsburg State University	82	2,194	3.7%
University of Kansas	341	13,684	2.5%
Wichita State University	246	5,081	4.8%

Table 1: Number of Resident Freshmen Exceptions

Table 2 presents the number and percent of non-resident freshmen students admitted as exceptions, disaggregated by institution. By regulation, the number of non-resident freshmen exceptions is limited to either 10 percent of the total number of admitted non-resident freshmen, or 50 students, whichever is greater. Each state university has a written policy to guide decisions about exceptions and every student admitted as an exception receives an individual success plan.

	Exceptions	Admits	10% or 50 students, whichever is greater (the greater is shown)
Emporia State University	18	191	9.4%
Fort Hays State University	40	585	6.8%
Kansas State University	221	2,508	8.8%
Pittsburg State University	64	912	7.0%
University of Kansas	564	8,266	6.8%
Wichita State University	108	1,595	6.8%

Table 2: Number of Non-Resident Freshmen Exceptions

Minimum Admission Criterion for 2017-2018 Transfer Applicants

State universities are required to admit resident transfer applicants who have earned at least 24 credit hours of transferable coursework with a cumulative grade point average of at least 2.0 on a 4.0 scale. State universities may admit non-resident transfer applicants who have met this criterion, but they are not required to do so. State universities may adopt additional and/or more stringent standards to admit non-resident transfer applicants.

Exceptions to the Minimum Admission Standards

State universities may admit transfer applicants who have earned less than a 2.0 on 24 or more transferable semester credit hours, but the number of these exceptions is limited by statute. The number of resident transfer exceptions is limited to 10 percent of the university's resident transfer admissions. The number of non-resident transfer exceptions is limited to 10 percent of the university's non-resident transfer admissions. Admitting applicants as exceptions is at the discretion of the state university and each student receives an individual success plan.

K.S.A. 76-717 requires the Board to report the following to the legislature on or before January 31 of each year: (1) the number and percent of resident transfer students admitted as exceptions, and (2) the number and percent of non-resident transfer students admitted as exceptions. The statute specifies this information be disaggregated by institution.

Table 3 presents the number and percent of transfer students admitted by each state university under the 10 percent exception window. This information is disaggregated by institution and by residency status. No institution exceeded the 10 percent limit.

Table 5. Number of Transfer Students Admitted as Exceptions								
	Resident			Non-Resident				
	Exceptions	Admits	Percent	Exceptions	Admits	Percent		
Emporia State University	4	493	0.8%	2	63	3.2%		
Fort Hays State University	119	1,783	6.7%	102	1,387	7.4%		
Kansas State University	10	1,339	0.7%	6	822	0.7%		
Pittsburg State University	14	534	2.6%	9	246	3.7%		
University of Kansas	27	1,683	1.6%	22	766	2.9%		
Wichita State University	51	1,994	2.6%	12	387	3.1%		

Table 3: Number of Transfer Students Admitted as Exceptions

Summary and Recommendation

Regarding the admittance of undergraduate freshmen and transfer students for 2017-2018, no state university exceeded the 10 percent threshold for the total number who did not meet the minimum admission standards. Staff recommends acceptance of this report.