
ANNUAL REPORT ON EXCEPTIONS 

TO THE MINIMUM ADMISSION STANDARDS 

AT STATE UNIVERSITIES  
 

January 2018 



 

1 

Receive Annual Report on Exceptions to the Minimum Admission Standards at State Universities  

Summary and Recommendation 

Background 
From 1915 to 2001, Kansas had an open admission policy which guaranteed admission to anyone who graduated 

from an accredited high school in Kansas.  In 1996, the Legislature passed K.S.A. 76-717, which established minimum 

admission standards for state universities.  Those became effective in 2001.  The statute requires the Board to 

annually submit to the Legislature information on undergraduate students admitted to state universities who did not 

meet minimum admission standards.   

 
Minimum Admission Criteria for 2016-2017 Freshmen Applicants  
K.S.A.76-717 requires resident and non-resident freshmen applicants under the age of 21 to meet one of the 

following criteria in order to gain admittance to a state university:  (1) graduate from an accredited high school and 

earn a minimum ACT score of 21; (2) graduate from an accredited high school and rank in the top one-third of the 

class; (3) graduate from an accredited high school; or (4) graduate from an unaccredited high school and earn a 

minimum ACT score of 21; or (5) earn a GED with the prescribed minimum scores (Kansas residents only). Beginning 

in 2015 for all 2015 high school graduates and continuing currently, required of all applicants is the completion of the 

precollege curriculum with a GPA of at least 2.0 for residents and 2.5 for non-residents. 

 

Kansas residents 21 and older must meet one of the following criteria in order to gain admittance to a state 

university as freshmen: (1) graduate from an accredited high school; (2) graduate from an unaccredited high school; 

or (3) earn a GED with the prescribed minimum scores.  Non-resident freshmen applicants 21 and older must either 

(1) graduate from an accredited high school or (2) earn a GED with prescribed minimum scores for admission to a 

state university.   

 

2016-2017 Freshmen Applicants 

K.S.A. 76-717 requires that on or before January 31 of each year, the Board submit a report that includes the 

following information on the number and percentage of resident freshmen class admissions permitted as exceptions 

to the minimum admissions standards, disaggregated by institution. (Table 1). State universities may, at their 

discretion, admit applicants who do not meet the minimum freshmen admissions criteria, provided that the number 

of resident freshmen admitted as exceptions is limited to 10 percent of the university’s total freshmen admissions. 

No institution exceeded the 10 percent limit.  

The report on admission of the 2016-2017 freshmen class and 2016-2017 transfer students are mandated by K.S.A. 76-

717.  This statute requires the Board to annually submit to the Legislature information on the following categories of stu-

dent admissions: (1) the number and percentage of freshmen class admissions permitted as exceptions to the minimum 

admissions standards and (2) the number and percentage of transfer student admissions permitted as exceptions to the 

minimum admissions standards.  Staff notes no state university exceeded the limit on the number of applicants admitted 

as exceptions to the minimum standards and recommends acceptance of this report for submission to the Legislature to 

fulfill reporting requirements. 
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Table 1: Number of Resident Freshmen Exceptions 

 
Table 2 presents the number and percent of non-resident freshmen students admitted as exceptions, disaggregated by 

institution.  By regulation, the number of non-resident freshmen exceptions is limited to either 10 percent of the total 

number of admitted non-resident freshmen, or 50 students, whichever is greater.  Each state university has a written 

policy to guide decisions about exceptions and every student admitted as an exception receives an individual success 

plan.  

 
Table 2: Number of Non-Resident Freshmen Exceptions 

Minimum Admission Criterion for 2016-2017 Transfer Applicants  
State universities are required to admit resident transfer applicants who have earned at least 24 credit hours of 
transferable coursework with a cumulative grade point average of at least 2.0 on a 4.0 scale. State universities may 
admit non-resident transfer applicants who have met this criterion, but are not required to do so. State universities 
may adopt additional and/or more stringent standards to admit non-resident transfer applicants.  
  
Exceptions to the Minimum Admission Standards  
State universities may admit transfer applicants who have earned less than a 2.0 on 24 or more transferable credit 
hours, but the number of these exceptions is limited by statute. The number of resident transfer exceptions is limited 
to 10 percent of the university’s resident transfer admissions.  The number of non-resident transfer exceptions is 
limited to 10 percent of the university’s non-resident transfer admissions.  Admitting applicants as exceptions is at the 
discretion of the state university and each student receives an individual success plan.   
 
K.S.A. 76-717 requires the Board to report the following to the legislature on or before January 31 of each year: (1) the 
number and percent of resident transfer students admitted as exceptions, and (2) the number and percent of non-
resident transfer students admitted as exceptions. The statute specifies this information be disaggregated by 
institution.  
 
Table 3 presents the number and percent of transfer students admitted by each state university under the 10 percent 
exception window. This information is disaggregated by institution and by residency status.  No institution exceeded 
the 10 percent limit.  

  Exceptions Admits Percent 

Emporia State University 108 1,548 7.0% 

Fort Hays State University 51 1,863 2.7% 

Kansas State University 330 8,247 4.0% 

Pittsburg State University 87 2,173 4.0% 

University of Kansas 400 14,308 2.8% 

Wichita State University 157 5,061 3.1% 

  
Exceptions Admits 

10% or 50 students, 
whichever is greater (the greater is shown) 

Emporia State University 18 250 7.2% 

Fort Hays State University 22 503 4.4% 

Kansas State University 226 2,706 8.4% 

Pittsburg State University 89 947 9.4% 

University of Kansas 740 8,599 8.6% 

Wichita State University 38 1,674 2.3% 
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 Table 3: Number of Transfer Students Admitted as Exceptions 

 

Summary and Recommendation  
Regarding the admittance of undergraduate freshmen and transfer students for 2016-2017, no state university 
exceeded the 10 percent threshold for the total number who did not meet the minimum admission standards.   

  

Resident Non-Resident 
Exceptions Admits Percent Exceptions Admits Percent 

Emporia State University 6 484 1.2% 1 52 1.9% 

Fort Hays State University 112 1,786 6.3% 89 1,242 7.2% 

Kansas State University 18 1,440 1.3% 9 919 1.0% 

Pittsburg State University 15 495 3.0% 13 227 5.7% 

University of Kansas 28 1,620 1.7% 11 709 1.6% 

Wichita State University 45 1,916 2.3% 16 406 3.9% 


